PUP Declare 'This Place Sucks Ass' on New EP

Hear "Rot" ahead of the effort's October arrival
PUP Declare 'This Place Sucks Ass' on New EP
PUP's 2020 so far has included a Juno win, beer release, live album, zines, a Grandaddy cover and more, and the beloved Toronto punks will now add a new EP to that list.

Six-track EP This Place Sucks Ass touches down October 23 through Little Dipper/UMC and places recent single "Anaphylaxis" and the aforementioned "A.M. 180" cover alongside songs originally cut from their acclaimed album Morbid Stuff, which Exclaim! named one of the 20 Best Pop and Rock Records of 2019.

"It was a thing we used to say as a joke a million times on tour," frontman Stefan Babcock offered of the EP's title. "Literally any city, whether it was Lethbridge, AB, or New York City, we'd be like, 'This place sucks ass.' We have so much negativity, and sometimes it becomes so extreme and ridiculous that we start to find it funny. But at this moment in time, it feels so fucking real. Wherever you are, it sucks ass right now. So, wherever you live, whatever your circumstances, this is an EP about the place you're from, and the place you're at now."

As PUP explained in a press release, songs "Nothing Changes," "Floodgates" and "Edmonton" were cut from Morbid Stuff for being "too frenetic or too unhinged," while EP opener "Rot" was tracked earlier this year. You can hear that one below.

PUP have also made plans for their first-ever livestreamed show on October 23, with tickets, merch and further details available here

"What can you expect from the livestream? Like most regular PUP shows, it'll probably be a bit of a trainwreck, which is really all part of the magic," the band explained. "We don't know if it'll be any good, but we do promise it will be weird and different from any livestream you've ever seen.  It's being directed by our pal (and 5th member of PUP) Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux, who has also directed almost all of our music videos. It will be fun and unhinged and entirely unprofessional. Am I selling it? I think I'm selling it."

This Place Sucks Ass:

1. Rot
2. Anaphylaxis
3. A.M. 180
4. Nothing Changes
5. Floodgates
6. Edmonton

Pre-order This Place Sucks Ass.