Lapalux Returns with 'Ruinism' LP, Shares New Track

Lapalux Returns with 'Ruinism' LP, Shares New Track
Nearly two years on from delivering his sophomore LP Lustmore, Lapalux (a.k.a. Stuart Howard) has lifted the curtain on a new full-length. Titled Ruinism, the new disc will arrive on June 30 through Flying Lotus's Brainfeeder imprint.

A press release explains that the 12 tracks on Ruinism explore "the more ominous limbo space between life and death," adding that "in this liminal space where the finite and infinite intermingle, Lapalux sounds more at home than ever."

"'Ruinism' is a made-up term I use to describe the way in which blended sound palettes and inspirations interact with one another to form this album," Howard explained in a statement. "I would record synths and drum hits and re-sample, re-pitch, twist and blend the sound until it was 'ruined' and then salvage it again in an attempt to make something coherent."

Ruinism's inspiration was reportedly born out of a score Howard wrote for a performance art piece titled Despair, which was performed in an East London cemetery. Drawing from the doom and melancholia that came with such a project, the album is "all sonic wreckage and rubble created using only hardware and real instruments. The sound simultaneously destroys and redeems itself across a tight and formidable 48 minutes."

​Ruinism can be pre-ordered here. Read through the record's tracklisting to hear "Rotted Arp," which features Louisahhh, and an album preview mix in the players below.


1. Reverence
2. Data Demon (ft. GABI)
3. Petty Passion
4. Rotted Arp (ft. Louisahhh)
5. Falling Down (ft. JFDR)
6. Displacer
7. 4EVA (ft. Talvi)
8. Essex is Burning
9. Flickering (ft. JFDR)
10. Running To Evaporate
11. Phase Violet
12. Tessellate