Dwight Yoakam Announces '3 Pears,' Gets Beck to Guest

Dwight Yoakam Announces '3 Pears,' Gets Beck to Guest
Stetson-wearing country vet Dwight Yoakam was rumoured to be working with Beck last year, and sure enough, that collaboration has been confirmed by the announcement of Yoakam's latest album. Entitled 3 Pears, it will arrive on September 18 through Warner Bros. Records.

This is Yoakam's first album since 2005's Blame the Vain. The 12-track collection was largely self-produced, but Beck co-produced the songs "A Heart Like Mine" and "Missing Heart." The fact that the bulk of the tunes were self-produced comes as something of a surprise, since Yoakam was previously said to be in the studio with recording genius Joe Chiccarelli (U2, the Strokes, the White Stripes).

According to a press release, the album "balances [Yoakam's] country core with a fiercely independent embrace of rock, Americana, pop and soul and builds on his trademark edginess with a notable, growing positivity." This means "heartfelt love songs" that are marked by "authentic country vocals" and the tunesmith's "unmistakable classic sound."

See the tracklist below, and head to Yoakam's official website to hear a sample of the twangy album cut "Trying."

The is latest in a string of recent Beck productions. He's previously teamed up in the studio with Charlotte Gainsbourg, Thurston Moore and Stephen Malkmus.

3 Pears:

1. Take Hold of My Hand
2. Waterfall
3. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke
4. Trying
5. Nothing But Love
6. It's Never Alright
7. A Heart Like Mine
8. Long Way to Go
9. Missing Heart
10. 3 Pears
11. Rock It All Away
12. Long Way to Go (Reprise)